Kill From The Heart: Red Vinyl LP

Kill From The Heart: Red Vinyl LP

Regular price £33.00 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre-Order Item. Release Date Subject to Change.
Label: Superior Viaduct
Release Date: 23rd February

Some of that good old fashioned kicking against the man and punching up punk, can't argue with the messages and all the while delivered with a Captain Beefheart meets raw proto-punk sound that instantly riles you up. Classic SST release reissued by the fine folk at Superior Viaduct for a definitive version.

• Classic debut album from Austin punk band Dicks
• Originally released on SST in 1983
• Featuring the group’s original lineup
• Comes with insert and download card
Dicks’ debut LP has been acknowledged as a foundational statement in Punk ever since its initial 1983 release. Following their first single, 1980’s “Dicks Hate The Police,” and a live split with fellow Austinites the Big Boys, Kill From The Heart does not disappoint. Originally released on SST, the album stands apart from the mass of generic thrash-hardcore contemporaries— fueled by the manic, but controlled power of singer Gary Floyd along with the original lineup of guitarist Glen Taylor, bassist Buxf Parrot and drummer Pat Deason. Dicks were operating at an absolute peak at this point, alternating damaged workouts that suggest Flipper or No Trend on one end and highly charged tracks in the vein of Minutemen or Tales of Terror on the other. Straight out of the gate on “Anti Klan,” the band trades blues-grounded guitar with squealing feedback and intensely political lyrics. The raw emotional sincerity of Floyd, who was openly gay in Reagan-era Texas, provides unmistakeable urgency to songs such as “No Nazi’s Friend,” “Rich Daddy” and the title track, which remains one of the stone-cold classic punk anthems. Forty years on, Kill From The Heart continues to smolder—an arresting testament to the possibilities embodied in creative rage. It is no surprise that Dicks have been covered by Mudhoney, Jesus Lizard and more. Superior Viaduct is honored to present this truly essential reissue. Comes with original tracklist, insert and download card.

1. Anti-Klan (Part 1)
2. Rich Daddy
3. No Nazi’s Friend
4. Marilyn Buck
5. Kill From The Heart
6. Little Boys’ Feet
7. Pigs Run Wild
8. Bourgeois Fascist Pig
9. Purple Haze
10. Anti-Klan (Part 2)
11. Right Wing/White Ring
12. Dicks Can’t Swim: I. Cock Jam / II. Razor Blade Dance

Share this Product