Nippon Columbia Disco & Boogie Hits 1978-1982: Vinyl LP
Nippon Columbia Disco & Boogie Hits 1978-1982: Vinyl LP
Various Artists

Nippon Columbia Disco & Boogie Hits 1978-1982: Vinyl LP

Regular price £27.90 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre-Order Item. Release Date Subject to Change.
Label: 180g
Release Date: 26th January

Pumping compilation of Japanese boogie on down disco, worth the fee for Godiego's 'Monkey Magic' the sci-fi fantasy cosmic disco rock theme to cult Japanese TV series Monkey. This comp isn't just about that 10/10 banger, it's front to back irresistible synth laden funk and grooves as filtered through 1970s and early 80s Japan.

In the mid-seventies, discotheques were booming in Tokyo and all over Japan. When the Fatback Band topped the 1975 US charts with their infectious "Do The Bus Stop" hit, Japanese label Victor put out the following year the first Japan made Disco tune with "Sexy Bus Stop", released under the mysterious name Dr. Dragon & Oriental Express, a pseudonym for successful Japanese pop composer Kyohei Tsutsumi. "Sexy Bus Stop" became an instant hit in the country and, taking this opportunity, various Japanese record companies started releasing Disco music. From 1976 until the early 1980s the music was often recorded by skilled studio musicians, rather than by computer input, providing a really solid sound to the dancefloor. Disco music was also spreading into TV series, commercials and anime. From Godiego's monster hit "The Birth Of The Odyssey - Monkey Magic" to Pink Parachute's obscure (and excellent!) "Disco Great Tokyo" tune, this selection explores some of the finest Disco and Boogie music released on the legendary Nippon Columbia label in the late seventies and early eighties. Are you ready? Put your dance shoes on, and enjoy!

01: Godiego - The Birth Of The Odyssey - Monkey Magic
02: Ikue Sakakibara - This is Hot
03: Soul Media - I Will Give You Samba
04: Hatsumi Shibata - Purple Shadow
05: Yumi Murata - Krishna
06: Yoshito Machida・Godiego - Ame Wa Knife No Yo Sa
07: Pink Parachute - Disco Great Tokyo
08: Hatsumi Shibata - Hazumi De Daite (A Woman In A Man's World)

Share this Product