Body of Light / I Am A Cloud: Double Vinyl LP
The Dead Tongues

Body of Light / I Am A Cloud: Double Vinyl LP

Regular price £37.00 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre-Order Item. Release Date Subject to Change.
Label: Psychic Hotline 
Release Date: 9th August

A proper double album, a Twofer if you will as The Dead Tongues pulls together two distinct records of mystic earthy country folk. A  voice captivatingly designed with storytelling in mind and destined to break hearts.

Across the last 15 years, Ryan Gustafson of The Dead Tongues has emerged as one of modern folk’s most distinct voices. As idiosyncratic and spectral as the songs have sometimes been, Gustafson has always tied his visions and verses to the kinds of hooks you tuck away like talismans, pulled out in case of emergency. Dust, Unsung Passage, Desert: The Dead Tongues’ albums remain some of the more compelling and curious works in their field on this side of a century. The latest edition to The Dead Tongues’ catalog, the song-centric and magnetic Body of Light and the discursive and wonderfully elliptical I Am a Cloud, is 16 complete tunes split across interweaving and disparate albums.

The albums feature performances by Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak, Bon Iver), Mat Davidson (Twain), Matt Douglas (The Mountain Goats), Joe Westerlund (Califone, Megafaun), Jeff Ratner (Bing and Ruth), and more. Gustafson wanted to dedicate the studio time to not just recording songs but also making something new, with new improvisations.

The two albums, released digitally as distinct standalone releases, join together in the physical format as a beautiful, deluxe, double album. The 2LP package features a meticulously embossed cover, and gorgeous custom inner-sleeves for each album.


Body of Light:

  1. Body of Light
  2. Dirt For A Dying Sun
  3. Dreamer
  4. Fading Away
  5. Daylily
  6. Moonshadow
  7. Wolves
  8. Big Nothing
  9. Hard Times, Sore Eyes

I Am A Cloud:

  1. Lightning
  2. I'm A Cloud Now
  3. Formations
  4. A Bridge
  5. Where Love All Happened
  6. Letters of Returning
  7. Even Here, Even Now

Share this Product