Boom! – Italian Jazz Soundtracks At Their Finest: Double Vinyl LP
Various Artists

Boom! – Italian Jazz Soundtracks At Their Finest: Double Vinyl LP

Regular price £23.00 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: CAM/Sugar
Release Date: 10th June

This comp represents a musical snapshot of the coolest place in Europe in the 50s and 60s - Italy and it's swinging marriage of cinema and jazz. This comp pulls together some of the great composers of that time, many of whom like Morricone, Piero Umiliani and Riz Ortolani became soundtrack titans along with some lesser known composers for you to dig further into. Possibly the coolest soundtrack of the year, best served on a Vespa while you drink coffee down a cobbled street.

For a whole decade, spanning between the second half of the ‘50s and the second half of the ‘60s, jazz took over the Italian screens. The Californian be-bop rhythms, filtered and reinterpreted in a typical Mediterranean key, became the perfect soundtrack to the Italy of the economic boom; the quintessential music for a country that was sailing through a moment of profound and exciting industrial, social and cultural renovation. A nation that was rapidly shedding its skin, changing its style, look and identity, but also its landscape, letting itself go to the inebriation of the economic miracle.
The compilation was conceived like a sonic stream, a journey of discovery carefully sequenced from hundreds of soundtracks from the golden age of Italian jazz contained in the CAM Sugar archive.
33 tracks that go beyond music, telling the story of Italian cinema, society and of its unmistakable style and charm. A genre that even when nodding to Californian be-bop, to crime jazz or bossa nova still sounds surprisingly original and Mediterranean, elegant, and seductive, either with joyous peaks (the scat of I Cantori Moderni di Alessandroni or of I 4+4 di Nora Orlandi) or with enigmatic and nearly dramatic nuances (La strega in amore by Luis Bacalov, Il batticuore by Marcello Gigante).
The compilation also offers a precious insight into the Italian jazz scene of the times, with its string of formidable soloists like Gianni Basso (sax) and Oscar Valdambrini (trumpet), two Piedmontese men on duty for the RAI television orchestra conducted by Armando Trovajoli; like Nunzio Rotondo (trumpet) a legendary and elusive figure who had a special bond with Piero Piccioni; or like Enrico Rava (trumpet), Franco D'Andrea (piano) and Gegé Munari (drums) who often recorded with Piero Umiliani. Not to forget international stars like Chet Baker and Gato Barbieri, who were often fortuitously dragged into the recording sessions also thanks to Umiliani’s never-ending curiosity.


A1 – 01 – Piero Umiliani – Notte in Algeria – I PIACERI PROIBITI
recorded at Fono Roma on 30.05.1963
Sax: Gianni Basso
Trumpet: Oscar Valdambrini

A2 – 02 – Francesco De Masi – Oggi in Africa – ALLA SCOPERTA DELL’AFRICA
recorded at Fono Roma in 1966

A3 – 03 – Ennio Morricone – Agosto Jazz – LA VOGLIA MATTA
recorded at Fono Roma on 30.03.1962

A4 – 04 – Armando Trovajoli – Jumping – IL VEDOVO **
recorded at Fonolux in 1959

A5 – 05 – Nino Oliviero, Bruno Nicolai – Ora di Punta – MONDO CANE No. 2
recorded at Fonolux on 12.04.1963

A6 – 06 – Riz Ortolani – Il sorpasso (Titoli – ripresa) – IL SORPASSO *
recorded at Fonolux in 1962

A7 – 07 – Marcello Giombini – Notti d’amore a Tokyo – LE DOLCI NOTTI
recorded at International Recording on 28.09.1962


B1 – 08 – Aldo Piga – Il vedovo bianco – AMORE FACILE *
recorded at International Recording on 28.09.1964

B2 – 09 – Piero Umiliani – Tensione – AUDACE COLPO DEI SOLITI IGNOTI
recorded at Fonolux on 29.10.1959
Trumpet: Chet Baker

B3 – 10 – Gianni Ferrio – Frenesia dell’estate (Titoli) – FRENESIA DELL’ESTATE **
recorded at International Recording on 17.01.1964

B4 – 11 – Luiz Bonfá – Coppia in crisi – LE ORE DELL’AMORE **
recorded at International Recording on 8.03.1963
Classical Guitar: Luiz Bonfá

B5 – 12 – Piero Piccioni – Your Smile – 3 NOTTI D’AMORE
recorded at International Recording on 26.09.1964
Flute: Gino Marinacci

B6 – 13 – Giuseppe De Luca – Il treno rosa – MILLE PECCATI NESSUNA VIRTU’ *
recorded at International Recording on 22.07.1969

B7 – 14 – Marcello Gigante – Gardenia – SEDIA ELETTRICA
recorded at Dirmaphon on 3.06.1969
Vocals: Nora Orlandi

B8 - 15 – Piero Umiliani – In fondo alla notte – UNA BELLA GRINTA **
recorded at Dirmaphon on 2.02.1965
Drums: Gegé Munari
Sax: Gato Barbieri
Trumpet: Enrico Rava

B9 – 16 – Luis Bacalov – La strega in amore (Titoli) – LA STREGA IN AMORE
recorded at RCA in 1966
Vocals: Nora Orlandi


C1 – 17 – Piero Umiliani – 7 monaci d’oro (Titoli) – 7 MONACI D’ORO *
recorded at Fono Roma on 17.03.1966
Choir: I Cantori Moderni di Alessandroni

C2 – 18 – Gianni Ferrio – Il raggio infernale (Titoli) – IL RAGGIO INFERNALE *
recorded at Fono Roma on 23.12.1966
Choir: I Cantori Moderni di Alessandroni

C3 – 19 – Francesco De Masi – Perry Scott Blues – SINFONIA PER DUE SPIE
recorded at Fono Roma on 26.10.1965

C4 – 20 – Caro Rustichelli – Sexy Lucy – ASSICURASI VERGINE **
recorded at Fono Roma on 8.03.1967

C5 – 21 – Carlo Rustichelli – Allegre notti – LETTI SBAGLIATI *
recorded at International on 25.03.1965

C6 – 22 – Piero Umiliani – Il Nero – M1 – IL NERO *
recorded at Colangeli Studio on 16.16.1967
Sax: Gato Barbieri

C7 – 23 – Carlo Rustichelli – Night Blues – GLI IMBROGLIONI
recorded at Fono Roma on 5.09.1963
Choir: Quartetto Caravels


D1 – 24 – Marcello Giombini – Miniswing orientale – NUDO CRUDO E… *
recorded at Colangeli Studio on 22.09.1964

D2 – 25 – Carlo Savina – Agente 077 – Sfida ai killers (Titoli) – AGENTE 077 SFIDA AI KILLERS *
recorded at International Recording on 22.01.1966
Choir: I 4+4 di Nora Orlandi

D3 – 26 – Aldo Piga – Le notti della violenza (Titoli) – LE NOTTI DELLA VIOLENZA *
recorded at Dirmaphon on 26.04.1965

D4 – 27 – Ivan Vandor – Gangsters – BERSAGLIO MOBILE **
recorded at Fono Roma on 18.07.1967

D5 – 28 – Armando Trovajoli – Giallo Club – CHIAMATE 22-22 TENENTE SHERIDAN *
recorded at Fonolux in 1960

D6 – 29 – Marcello Gigante – Il batticuore – IL MOSTRO DI VENEZIA **
recorded at CAM Studio on 25.03.1965

D7 – 30 – Aldo Piga – Concorso per giovani attrici – LETTO DI SABBIA **
recorded in 1964

D8 – 31 – Piero Umiliani – Milano Blues (edit) – BIANCO, ROSSO, GIALLO, ROSA
recorded at Fono Roma on 18.11.1964

D9 – 32 – Giorgio Zinzi – Atmosfera di Night – LA COSTANZA DELLA RAGIONE
recorded at Dirmaphon in 1964

D10 – 33 – Piero Piccioni – Dea di un sogno (versione tromba e organo) – UN TENTATIVO SENTIMENTALE **
recorded at International Recording on 24.07.1963
Trumpet: Nunzio Rotondo

* previously unreleased
** first time on vinyl

Share this Product