High Priest: Sky Blue Vinyl LP
Alex Chilton

High Priest: Sky Blue Vinyl LP

Regular price £22.00 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: Bar/None
Release Date: 13th May

ALEX CHILTON IS GOD! There is and only will ever be one, a man with an unnatural sense of melody and a self-destructive need to completely fight his unearthly gift. Much of his solo work can go over-looked but there's some absolute gems in this... on account of him being GOD and you should never doubt any above us mere mortal humans.

Out of print for almost 30 years. Includes rare never-before-seen vacation photos by Anna Lee Van Cleef who shot the original album cover. 1987's High Priest was the first full length solo record for legendary frontman Alex Chilton (Big Star/ Box Tops) since 1979's ground shaking Like Flies on Sherbert. It shows Chilton in full control of his faculties as both a musician and a musicologist. He leads a solid band of Memphis/ New Orleans studio heavyweights through 4 newly penned originals and a well curated list of covers. What it lacks in polish, it more than makes up in charm, verve and just plain ol’ soul. This could be what rock’n’roll is all about.”

1 Take It Off
2 Let Me Get Close To You
3 Dalai Lama
4 Volare
5 Thing For You
6 Forbidden Love
7 Make A Little Love
8 Trouble Don’t Last
9 Don’t Be A Drag
10 Nobody’s Fool
11 Come By Here 12 Raunchy

Share this Product