Dance Ancestral: Vinyl LP
John Carroll Kirby

Dance Ancestral: Vinyl LP

Regular price $32.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: Stones Throw
Release Date: 5th August

John Carroll Kirby again proving himself to be a 'must pick up' kinda artist, this time he turns his magic fingers and otherworldly ear to a kind of pastel-dream new age jazz funk sound. This album is a real escape but it's by no means background music, it envelopes you into its world and soft welcoming spiritual soul. ACE.

For those who dig: Laraaji, George Duke, Herbie Hancock, Lonnie Liston Smith... the master of this cosmic funk.

Dance Ancestral is the latest addition to the prolific artist John Carroll Kirby’s fast-growing and distinctive body of work. 

Kirby debuted on Stones Throw in 2020 with My Garden, an album influenced by jazz, New Age and early music which he synthesised into his unique and instantly recognisable sound signature. Since then, he’s released the instrumental piano album Conflict, the Cryptozoo original feature film soundtrack, and the jazz fusion suite Septet. 

For Dance Ancestral, Kirby invited Canadian producer Yu Su to join him on production duties for a record with a more electronic sound. 

  1. Dawn of New Day (ft. Laraaji)
  2. Pan’s Dance
  3. Repettos For You My Lord
  4. Pause On The Ancient Ballcourt
  5. Frog Life
  6. Ghost in a Mist
  7. Messages in Water
  8. Tiptoe to the Grave
  9. Gabriel’s Gig

Share this Product