Inside: Missing Link: Vinyl LP
Volker Kriegel

Inside: Missing Link: Vinyl LP

Regular price $30.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: MPS
Release Date: 8th September

Step aboard this European jazz rock mothership, an absolute ride of freewheeling jazz, the psychedelic, the prog, the rock and big old brass pomp. So much fun and excess going on, a joy to take it all in.

For those who dig: jazz fusion, Billy Cobham, Hancock, Alphonse Mouzon, Brand X, John McLaughlin and in turn Mahavishnu Orchestra...

On Inside: Missing Link Kriegel assembled a band of some of the leading musical visionaries on the European jazz scene for this 1972 double album

The first album contains four extended pieces featuring an international octet with a hip mix of rock & jazz, pulsating arrangements, and distinctive solos. You find a three-piece brass section with German trombone icon Albert Mangelsdorff and saxophone master Heinz Sauer as well as English saxophone giant Alan Skidmore. The rhythm section likewise consists of ace musicians: Eberhard Weber on bass, John Marshall on drums and Dutch percussionist Cees See. English keyboard legend John Taylor's electrifying play completes the sound.

The second session is done without the brass section, giving Taylor's electric piano and Kriegel's electric and acoustic guitars more room, as well as Weber who also contributes one of his compositions. Peter Baumeister takes over at the drums. The album was remastered from the original analogue master tapes.

Share this Product