Divide and Exit (10th Anniversary Edition): Clear Red Vinyl LP + Flexi Disc
Divide and Exit (10th Anniversary Edition): Clear Red Vinyl LP + Flexi Disc
Sleaford Mods

Divide and Exit (10th Anniversary Edition): Clear Red Vinyl LP + Flexi Disc

Regular price £28.50 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre-Order Item. Release Date Subject to Change.
Label: Rough Trade Records
Release Date: 26th July

Ten year anniversary of the Mods breakout record, still in the belief that the line about wee smelling so strong it smells like decent bacon is one of the best of the 21st century. Big up the updated Cold War Steve artwork.

(Limited-edition LP sleeve designed by Cold War Steve, plus a bonus flexi featuring the rarity “Git Some Balls” – released on translucent red vinyl with new sleeve notes by Mods’ Jason Williamson and a fully reprinted, 2014 interview from The Wire.)

Allying strong words and minimal electronics, Sleaford Mods’ second ‘proper’ album (or sixth if you go back through the early CD-R efforts) the self-released Divide and Exit was not only Andrew Fearn and Jason Williamson’s most effective artistic expression to that point, it also truly captured the taste of a land souring by the day.

Fully remastered and set for a reissue through Rough Trade Records to mark the record’s tenth anniversary.

This reissue offers a chance to fully appreciate a band hitting their artistic stride while acknowledging and commiserating that many of the dark forces that inspired its creation linger on. Once again though it is possible bathe in the hopeful anger that underpins Sleaford Mods’ blasts of outrage and electro.

“Where our previous album Austerity Dogs barked a directionless yet solid form of anger, Divide and Exit then carried this basic form of class consciousness,” says Williamson of the vision behind the record, both musically and lyrically.

“After the release of Austerity Dogs we realised we had seemingly created a formula,” he adds. “Andrew just took the formula and ran with it and his music started to sound much more compact and urgent.”

“Listening to it now, Divide and Exit is perhaps the most punk record we have done,” says Williamson, reflecting on how Sleaford Mods felt out ahead, covering fresh ground alone at the time, before going on to inspire a raft of post-punk-infused artists to follow their lead in the album’s aftermath. “Each song falls out of the last like an extension or whatever. There wasn’t anyone in the country doing what we were doing at that point, it feels like it was 30 years ago, but it’s only been 10. Mad as fuck.”


  1. Air Conditioning
  2. Tied Up in Nottz
  3. A Little Ditty
  4. You're Brave
  5. Strike Force
  6. The Corgi
  7. From Rags to Richards
  8. Liveable Shit
  9. Under the Plastic and N.T.C.
  10. Tiswas
  11. Keep Out of It
  12. Smithy
  13. Middle Men
  14. Tweet Tweet Tweet

Share this Product