Flight b741: Recycled Black Wax Vinyl LP
Flight b741: Recycled Black Wax Vinyl LP
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Flight b741: Recycled Black Wax Vinyl LP

Regular price £30.50 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre-Order Item. Release Date Subject to Change.
Label: (p)doom Records
Release Date: 9th August

I've done a lot of these King Gizzy write ups since starting this shop in 2020 and you always set yourself to have a pretty good idea of what Gizzard sound like and then they spin on a dollar buck and chuck you in a new glam rock southern fried country boogie spin. 

For their 26th album, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard swap the widescreen concepts of their recent albums for the intimacy of six good friends collaborating on the most bonhomie-laden set they’ve yet committed to wax. For Flight b741, bandleader Stu Mackenzie says King Gizzard “wanted to make something that was primal, instinctual, more ‘from the gut’ – just people in a room, doing what feels right. We wanted to make something fun.”

Tapping into the country-fried 70s American rock on which they were all raised – along with the ornery garage-rock roots from which their mighty discography sprang – Flight b741 is lightning caught inside a bottle. Across its 10 ragged, glorious barnburners, King Gizzard flesh out rough skeletons of songs with their inspired improvisations, inimitable grooves and a unique pass-the-mic approach to vocals that saw every member of the band raise their voice and sing. “We’re having a lot of fun, but we’re often singing about some pretty heavy shit,” Mackenzie adds, “and probably hitting on some deeper, more universal themes than usual. It’s not a sci-fi record, it’s about life and stuff. But the record is like a really fun weekend with your mates, you know? Like, proper fun.”


A1. Mirage City
A2. Antarctica
A3. Raw Feel
A4. Field of Vision
A5. Hog Calling Contest

B1. Le Risque
B2. Flight b741
B3. Sad Pilot
B4. Rats In The Sky
B5. Daily Blues

Share this Product