Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake: Gold Vinyl LP
Small Faces

Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake: Gold Vinyl LP

Regular price £24.00 £0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: BMG
Release Date: 24th February

We should all be living by the mantra 'life is just all bran, you wake up every morning and it's there' from HappyDaysToyTown which finishes off this 10/10 record. An album that I could look you in the eye and unflinchingly say 'is a better concept record than Sgt. Pepper'. You start off on a trip with the title track and end with the thundering grinding organ of Afterglow, Rollin Over is pure Jimi swagger and then Stanley Unwin comes in 'sits you two square on your botty' and delivers one of the most charming psychedelic tales in 60s pop.
YES... We're putting it in the MASTERPIECE section.

Presented here on limited edition gold vinyl, ‘Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake’ is the third studio album, and only concept album by the Small Faces. Originally released in May 1968, the LP peaked at number one on the UK Album Charts the following month, where it remained for six weeks and is the Small Faces' best-known and most successful album.

Including the hit tracks ‘Lazy Sunday’, ‘Ogdens Nut Gone Flake’ and ‘Rene’, side two of the LP is based on an original fairy tale concept about a boy called Happiness Stan - six songs interlinked with narration provided by comic performer Stanley Unwin in his unique, nonsensical private language.

It ultimately became the group's final studio album during their original incarnation. The album title and distinctive packaging design was a parody of Ogden's Nut-brown Flake, a brand of tinned loose tobacco that was produced in Liverpool from 1899 onwards by Thomas Ogden.

1. Ogdens` Nut Gone Flake
2. Afterglow
3. Long Ago’s And Worlds Apart
4. Rene
5. Song Of A Baker
6. Lazy Sunday

1. Happiness Stan
2. Rollin` Over
3. The Hungry Intruder
4. The Journey
5. Mad John
6. Happydaystoytown

Share this Product