Spencer Cullum's Coin Collection: Green Vinyl LP
Spencer Cullum

Spencer Cullum's Coin Collection: Green Vinyl LP

Regular price £20.00 Sale price £21.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: Full Time Hobby
Release Date: 12th November

There's an incredible comfort to be found in Spencer Cullum's Coin Collection, like finding an old VHS at your parents house and catching bits of warm but faded kids cartoons like Bagpuss or Ivor the Engine with strangely charming adverts for cigarettes. This record harks back to a time that seems cosy with a warm and welcoming wit. 

For those who dig: 70s English folk, soft LA pop rock of the late 60s, Nick Drake, Ryley Walker...

With an arm’s length list of credits stretching from the likes of Kesha, Dolly Parton and Deer Tick, to Miranda Lambert and Little Big Town, pedal steel savant Spencer Cullum is one of Nashville’s most in-demand session cats. That’s in addition to making up half of acclaimed, primarily instrumental space-country duo “Steelism.” Clearly he’s had little trouble fitting in since moving from his native London to Music City by way of Detroit eight years ago, even if it’s mostly meant blending into the background.

“I guess I’ve always hidden behind [the instrument],” he deadpans. “I’m always the guy who looks like he’s studying for a test in the background.” Now, with a debut solo album, Spencer Cullum’s Coin Collection, paying homage to the ’60s and ‘70s psych-pop, folk and proto-prog heroes of his homeland, this Nashville sideman’s stepping out from the shadows into the spotlight. The album is being released September 10th via Full Time Hobby. Along with a supporting cast of fellow Music City stage and studio aces like guitarist Sean Thompson and multi-instrumentalist Luke Reynolds, as well as singing and writing partners like Caitlin Rose, Andrew Combs, Erin Rae, Annie Williams and James “Skyway Man” Wallace — he’s bringing a bit of Britain to Tennessee.

Share this Product