Archangel Hill: Green Grass Vinyl LP
Archangel Hill: Green Grass Vinyl LP
Archangel Hill: Green Grass Vinyl LP
Shirley Collins

Archangel Hill: Green Grass Vinyl LP

Regular price $30.00 $30.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: Domino Records
Release Date: 26th May

Was gonna lead this description calling Shirley Collins ‘the GOAT of British Folk vocals’ or ‘The High Queen of English Folk’ like she’s Madonna or she’s being introduced by Jimmy Fallon. At present there’s few finer at storytelling and probably may never will, these are recordings that stand the test of time like the stories told.

One of the most important voices in British folk music Shirley Collins returns with Archangel Hill, her third album for Domino. Due for release on May 26th, it showcases another peerless collection of songs chosen by Collins, some from traditional sources but others from favourite writers of hers. 

Produced by Ian Kearey - Shirley Collins’ musical director - the arrangements were shared between Collins, Kearey, Pip Barnes, as well as Dave Arthur and Pete Cooper, players from The Lodestar Band. 

All of the songs on Archangel Hill were recorded last year except for “Hand And Heart”, which was taken from a live performance at the Sydney Opera House in 1980 and features an arrangement by Shirley’s beloved and talented sister Dolly Collins.

  1. Fare Thee Well My Dearest Dear
  2. Lost In A Wood
  3. The Captain With The Whiskers
  4. June Apple
  5. The Golden Glove
  6. High And Away
  7. Oakham Poachers
  8. Hares On The Mountain
  9. Hand And Heart
  10. The Bonny Labouring Boy
  11. Swaggering Boney
  12. How Far Is It To Bethlehem?
  13. Archangel Hill

Share this Product