Rock ‘n’ Roll Star! (Half-Speed Master): Vinyl LP
David Bowie

Rock ‘n’ Roll Star! (Half-Speed Master): Vinyl LP

Regular price $32.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre-Order Item. Release Date Subject to Change.
Label: Parlophone
Release Date: 14th June

A unique compilation of recordings and live sessions that provide a candid audio window into the birth of Ziggy Stardust, a creation which would turn David Bowie from cult rock star with a few bangers to a global pop culture and art icon.

David Bowie’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Star! Charts Bowie’s journey to Ziggy Stardust. Starting with early home demos, through radio sessions and live performances, to session recordings, outtakes and alternate versions from the recording of The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust album.

The 1LP half-speed master which accompanies the 5CD+BR version features alternative takes and mixes including an alternative version of ‘Lady Stardust’, an unheard version of the deep-cut classic ‘Shadow Man’ and an up-tempo take of The Who’s ‘I Can’t Explain’, which he would later slow down and cover for the PIN-UPS album.

Side 1

  1. Hang On To Yourself (early Ziggy session take)
  2. Star (Take 5 alternative version)
  3. Lady Stardust (Take 1 alternative version)
  4. Shadow Man (Ziggy session version)
  5. The Supermen (Ziggy session version 2023 mix)
  6. Holy Holy (Ziggy session version alternative mix)
  7. Round And Round (alternative mix)

Side 2

  1. Velvet Goldmine (Ziggy sessions outtake 2022 mix)
  2. Looking For A Friend (Ziggy session version)
  3. It's Gonna Rain Again (Ziggy sessions outtake)
  4. Sweet Head (Ziggy sessions outtake 2022 mix)
  5. Starman (Top Of The Pops version 2022 mix)
  6. John, I'm Only Dancing (alternative Trident Studios version)
  7. I Can't Explain (Trident Studios version)

Share this Product